Rainy Voting Day

Screenshot (2)

It is raining here in Missouri today and it is cold. Does that crack not remind you of Dr. Who? Letting my geek flag fly here, but really it freaks me out a bit!

Usually, I love this sort of weather and it perks my mood up. I know I am getting burnt out and the tears in math don’t help! I have a Girls Weekend get away planned for this weekend with my two best friends from high school and yes that silly song from the hangover is playing in my head.

We’re the Three Best Friends
That Anyone Could Have
We’re the Three Best Friends
That Anyone Could Have

When you think about it, we are a speck of nothing in a big big world. Neil Armstrong said it best!

2c23a0d6508d8fff867b594f58d6cafb

 

Today. I am having a very defeatist type of day. Nothing, I do seems to make a difference. Standing there in the voting both as I marked my choices in with a black ink pen, I had this sudden sinking feeling that I am just one person and in the big scheme of things my opinion and vote don’t really make a difference. As I went through the voting process and I noticed that year after year we have the same judges running and no one running against them. Why is that? Would it make a difference? Do I make a difference by writing in Santa Claus instead of voting for them. Does the choice I make matter?

I went a voted this morning and there are a few important issues on our ballet. First is a local school district proposition. It basically ask for a $0.35 tax levy increase. Why? The school district is the fastest growing school district in the state. They are adding close to 500 new students a year. Almost all schools are currently at or over capacity, one of the reasons we decided to homeschool the youngest child this year. What happens if this doesn’t pass? As student enrollment continues to grow (and if the number of schools and classrooms remains the same) alternatives would include larger class sizes and bringing in more trailers to use as classrooms. The Board has also discussed a year-round attendance model, which would divide the student body into four groups. Each group would have a staggered schedule with nine weeks on and three weeks off, with no set summer break. The last option would be a split day schedule where half of the students would attend an early session, for example 6:00 a.m. until noon, and the other half would attend a late session, 1:00 p.m. until 7:00 p.m. The split schedule option was actually adopted by the WSD for a short time in 1970.

This issue does matter to me! I have a child in this school district and monster child could go back to public school in a year or two. So, this does matter to me and my family.

ca4bb381e74db262a1d9528f6d778c81

Kind of like this blog, I see that people are reading it but does it really make a difference? I am really a nobody, just a mom doing what I need to for my children. Do the things I put out here on this blog effect others? I don’t know! I do know it effect me, my family, and my circle of people. I can’t have this attitude and expect to make a difference in the important lives in my small circle. I have to have a positive outlook, the minds I have an effect on today could change tomorrow and our world.

510c304190a47dcb0b7d3f20a0fa1bde

 

So, Today I choose to be happy and not worry about things I can’t control.

Love, Peace, and Cupcakes

Shannon

Leave a Reply

