We have to have order…….

I see all the time of homeschoolers that have a very free schedule and do homeschool whenever.

We tried this! It didn’t work with us. We learned back when Monster Child was 3 years old that he need structure and rules to function. Without this we are in the fetal position in the corner, rocking back and forth, and banging our head against the wall.

We do our differently notebook first thing, usually in the 8am hour. This includes our writing prompt, weather journal, current event, and reading log.

Next we move onto math, now math can take us up to 2 or more hours. We are playing a huge game of relearning and catch up. We move onto Language Arts and spelling followed by Science, Social Studies, Art and finally Reading.  We got in this order everyday, it makes for a peaceful day. If we go out of order he just can’t handle it.

20140925_085132

I finally got my act together and made a control command center on my fridge for my very visual children. The left side of the fridge is for my public school high school daughter and the right side is for my home schooled son.

20140925_085321

A few years ago I found this weekday sticker. I didn’t really use it until a few weeks ago. Now I write everything down that we are covering that week. This way he can see our week and doesn’t get freaked out over  things. We have our flashcards of weekly concepts on the fridge, his chores, and chicken info.

I know a couple of people posted asking how you keep the house clean and homeschool. Here is our system, we break it up into manageable chunks. I give each kid a list too. These sheets are laminated, so we use them again and again. I also learned that if I waxed my bathroom sink every other week with car wax, the sink stays cleaner longer.

10505514_10152248938986710_7316971595968730807_n

This is his chore chart, I found it at Hello, Cuteness. They have tons of great things there.

10672121_10152248938906710_7523708404154078471_n

 

Mine is from Happy Money Saver. I do one area a day, I have tried all sorts of things and this works the best for me. I had to learn to let the kids do things and know that they would not be mom perfect. I let them clean their rooms and only go into mom clean if people are coming over.

He does his chores after schoolwork and before he is allowed on the Xbox. I do my chores here and there during the day.

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Shannon

2 thoughts on “We have to have order…….

Leave a Reply

