Math makes us cry

I remember as a child learning and memorizing my multiplication tables. It was something you just had to learn and you HAD to memorize. Now in the the public school system they say they don’t have time to make the kids memorize and it is not that important. NOT THAT IMPORTANT? It means the world, I can fly through 5th grade math problems, because I have memorized and retained that information from 4th grade. It drives my son crazy that this is easy for me and hard for him. We have had complete meltdowns at the kitchen table over this subject.

IMG_20141001_101812

We work with Khan Academy to help explain the concepts better than I can. We also use a white board to work out the problems. Experience has shown us, it doesn’t matter if you get the problem right you have to show your work. Our oldest son could work the problem in his head but failed to show his work and failed many test in high school for this simple reason.

th

Now I can’t explain it, but the child can solve for X or Y like it is nobody’s business. I don’t understand it, it is basically multiplication with letters. This type of math makes me cry. I want math to get over her X and not worry about finding it. But this to him makes sense. My dad said it is because this is the way his mind is wired.

20141002_105826

My husband and I were talking about this last night on the way home from the ER and we both agreed when it comes to math he is very smart. We both agreed, we can see him working in a cubicle making video games or inventing things. English is not his thing and writing is out of the question but Math and Science are right up his alley.

So, while simple math makes us cry we will continue on. We will continue to learn and memorize multiplication tables, Maybe Legos will help?

Peace, Love, and Cupcakes

Shannon

Leave a Reply

